Mississippi State University

HomeWorkshops and Conferences


The Japan-United States Committee for Promoting Economic and Social Development in East-Central Europe
Meeting II:  Mississippi State University
June 24-25, 1993

Organized by:
Center for International Security and Strategic Studies, Mississippi State University

Sponsored by:
Center for Global Partnership of the Japan Foundation,
Ford Foundation, and
United States-Japan Foundation



  • Chair:  Ambassador Nobuo Matsunaga, President and Director, Japan Institute of International Affairs

  • Dr. Yutaka Akino, Associate Professor, Institute of Social Sciences, Tsukuba University

  • Mr. Hideaki Domichi, Economic Counselor, Embassy of Japan

  • Mr. Junichi Hasegawa, Chief Representative, The Overseas Economic Cooperation Fund of Japan, Washington Office

  • Mr. Nagaharu Hayabusa, Senior Writer, The Asahi Shimbun

  • Mr. Motohiro Kondo, Editorial Advisor, Gaiko Forum, Toshi Shuppan, Publishers

  • Mr. Tadashi Maeda, The Export-Inport Bank of Japan

  • Mr. Keinosuke Muraoka, Chief Representative of Mitsubishi, Budapest Office

  • Mr. Rokuro Nakaji, Deputy General Manager, Administrative and Legal Affairs Division, Honda Motor Company, Ltd.

  • Mr. Mariko Nishizaki, Manager, Planning and Coordination Division, Japan International Development Organization Ltd. (JAIDO)

  • Mr. Massaki Okada, Director, Central and Eastern Europe Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

  • Mr. Motoatsu Sakuri, Vice President and General Manager, Mitsubishi International Corporation, Washington Representative Office

  • Mr. Yu Takahashi, Consul, Consulate-General of Japan

  • Counselor Mitsuhiro Yokoyama, Counselor, Economic Section, Embassy of Japan


  • Chair:  Ambassador Philip M. Kaiser, Former Ambassador of the United States to Hungary

  • Mr. Frank Almaguer, Acting Assistant Administrator, Bureau for Europe, Agency for International Development

  • Ms. Katalin A. Baranski, Special Assistant to the President, Hungarian-American Enterprise Fund

  • Dr. Nicholas Burakow, Senior Vice President, ICF International, Inc.

  • Dr. S.L. (Bud) Camacho, President, Plasma Technology Corporation

  • Mr. John Cotton, President, Central Division, Howard, Needles, Tammen & Bergendoff

  • Mr. Charles F. Fail, Chairman of the Board, Fail Telecommunications Corporation

  • Mr. Jeffrey Feltman, Special Assistant, Office of the Special Adviser for East European Assistance, U.S. Department of State

  • Mr. Ron Greenberg, Division Chief, Office of Environment and Natural Resources, Bureau for Europe, Agency for International Development

  • Mr. Carroll H. Ingram, President, Fail Telecommunications Corporation

  • Dr. Myron Johnsrud, Administrator, Extension Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture

  • Dr. John E. Lee, Jr., Former Administrator of USDA, Head of Agriculture Economics Department, Mississippi State University

  • Mr. Joseph J. Liptak, President, D&L, Inc.

  • Mr. Jovan Marjanovic, Managing Director, Central and Eastern Europe, Federal Division, Oracle Corporation

  • Mr. Gregory Mason, Director, Engineering and Technology, D&L, Inc.

  • Dr. Joseph H. McGilberry, Manager, Extension Food and Fiber Center, Mississippi State University

  • Dr. Tomasz Mroczkowski, Professor, International Business Department, The American University

  • Mr. Timothy Nulty, Director, International Finance Corporation

  • Mr. Thomas Pomeroy, Coordinator for the Secretariat for Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union, Foreign Agricultural Services, U.S. Department of Agriculture

  • Dr. Ralph E. Powe, Vice President for Research, Mississippi State University

  • Mr. Larry W. Seab, Vice President-Finance, Fail Telecommunications Corporation

  • Dr. Billy C. Ward, Vice President for Institutional Advancement and Professor of Veterinary Medicine, Mississippi State University

  • Mr. Wylie L. Williams, Jr., Secretary General, International Public Works Federation

  • Dr. Donald W. Zacharias, President, Mississippi state University


Czech Republic

  • Chair:  Ambassador Rita Klímová, Economist and Former Ambassador of the Czech and Slovak Federal Republic

  • Mr. Vit Stepánek, Chief of Cabinet of the Minister of Economy

  • Mr. Vlastimil Tlustý, Member of Parliament, Chairman, Union of Land Owners & Private Owners of the Czech Republic

  • Mr. Frantisek Trojacek, Third Secretary, Economic Section, Embassy of the Czech Republic

Republic of Hungary

  • Chair:  Professor Béla Kádár, Minister of International Economic Relations of Hungary, Ministry of International Economic Relations

  • Professor István Láng, Science Policy Adviser, Hungarian Academy of Science

  • Dr. Péter Szerdahelyi, Deputy Secretary of State, Ministry of Agriculture, Budapest

Republic of Poland

  • Chair:  Dr. Witold Trzeciakowski, Cooperation Fund

  • Dr. Andrzej Arendarski, Minister, Ministry of Foreign Economic Relations

  • Mr. Piotr Dabrowski, Former Undersecretary of State

  • Dr. Jerzy Kwiatkowski, Director, Ministry of Environmental Protection, Natural Resources and Forestry, Project Implementation Unit

Slovak Republic

  • Chair:  Ing. L’udovit Cernák, Chairman, Slovak National Party

  • Dr. Milan Erban, Minister, Counselor and Chargé d’Affaires, Embassy of the Slovak Republic

  • Dr. Mária Kadlecíková, first Secretary of the Slovak Embassy in Rome, Observer to FAO, Embassy of the Slovak Republic

  • Ms. Gabriela Kaliská, MP Ecological Commission of Parliament, Bratislava


  • Mr. Andras Heltai, Washington Correspondent, Hungarian Wire Services-MTI

  • Mr. Richard Hirschlere, Transition and Macro-Adjustment Division, Country Economics Department, the World Bank

  • Mr. Lewis Mallory, President and Chief Executive Officer, National Bank of Commerce

  • Mr. Nikolai M. Markovski, Deputy Minister, Chernobyl Affair

  • Ms. Christine Murray, Office of Public Liaison, Bureau of Public Affairs, U.S. Department of State

  • Mr. Charles Sills, Executive Director, The Barbara Gauntlett Foundation

  • Dr. Nikolai Svidunovich, Chairman, Plasma Activities Belorus Academy of Science, Republic of Russia


  • Dr. Ronald Aqua, Vice President, United States-Japan Foundation

  • Mr. Takashi Ishida, Assistant director, Center for Global Partnership of the Japan Foundation, New York Office


  • Dr. A. George Bennett, Director, Raspet Flight Research Lab and Professor, Aerospace Engineering

  • Dr. Ed Clynch, Head, Department of Political Science

  • Dr. Arthur G. Cosby, Director, Centers and Institutes

  • Dr. Warren C. Couvillion, Professor, Department of Agricultural Economics

  • Dr. János Radványi, Director, Center for International Security and Strategic Studies

  • Dr. John V. Saunders, Professor, Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work

  • Dr. Richard J. Vasek, Associate Dean of Instruction, College of Education



| Updated: 03/11/2003 | Legal | Webmaster |